A lovely park located between Gillette and Candee Avenues in Sayville, NY 11782

 

Guided Full Moon, Equinox and Solstice Labyrinth Walks begin at 7:30 pm.

In case of rain or freezing temperatures, the Labyrinth walks are cancelled.

March 20, Tuesday ~ Spring Equinox
March 31, Saturday ~ Full Moon

April 29, Sunday ~ Full Moon

May 29, Tuesday ~ Full Moon

June 21, Thursday ~ Summer Solstice
June 28, Thursday ~ Full Moon

July 27, Friday ~ Full Moon

August 26, Sunday ~ Full Moon

September 21, Friday ~ International Peace Day
September 22, Saturday ~ Fall Equinox
September 24, Monday ~ Full Moon

October 24, Wednesday ~ Full Moon

November 23, Friday ~ Full Moon

December 21, Friday ~ Winter Solstice only, no full moon walk this month

 

Saturdays ~ Reiki in the Park

Reiki Healing by Barbara Fitzpatrick
a gentle calming energy that
provides comfort and relief.

At 1:00 pm 4/21, 5/5, 6/23, 7/28 & 8/18

May 5 is International Labyrinth Day
Reiki offered after walking the labyrinth

 

About the Labyrinth
The Labyrinth is an ancient symbolic path with healing and spiritual significance. The Cretan pattern dates back to the third millennium B.C.E. and has been used within many cultures and spiritual traditions throughout the planet.

For most, labyrinths represent life's journey or spiritual pilgrimage. Walking the labyrinth often produces a calming, centering feeling.

Although labyrinths have been categorized as a type of maze, unlike mazes they usually have 5, 7, 9, or 11 circuits. There are no wrong turns in the labyrinths path. It is a single pathway that winds in and out clockwise, then counter- clockwise to the center and then out again.

When walking, this alternating balancing motion can calm and quiet one's body, mind, and spirit often inducing a receptive state for meditation and contemplation in the center of the labyrinth.

The labyrinth in Sayville is called the Peace Labyrinth. Built in 2003, it was designed, laid out, and financed by Marianne Fulfaro and dedicated to her parents, Carlo and Carmela Annunziato.

The labyrinth is a seven circuit, Mini-Chartres design. It is constructed of paving stones with red gravel pathways. The design in the center welcomes you with open arms.

The labyrinth is open to the public. There are full moon labyrinth walks available from March to December. For more information about the labyrinth at The Common Ground contact:  Barbara Fitzpatrick at contactus@thecommonground.com

 

Click to View A Photo Tour of the Creation of the Labyrinth

 
     
     

         
 
Join Our Email List
Email:  

The Common Ground
P.O. Box 533
Sayville, NY 11782
www.thecommonground.com
631-459-6603

Like us on Facebook:


Visit our Facebook Page